Author Topic: TO ALL PARENTS  (Read 8946 times)

Offline Anonymous

• View Profile
TO ALL PARENTS
« on: March 22, 2005, 09:39:00 PM »
Hello everyone, this is Tori DeGarmo. Right now I am at home in Florida, the Whitmore is traveling south. I took the week to visit my parents and my brother who just got back from Iraq. There are a bunch of misrepresentations, misleading comments, lies, and the questions are endless...What I would like to say is simple. I love my family (my blood and also my close friends that I consider family) as I am sure many of you do too wherever you are. I am a former student of the Whitmore and since have gone back to work- but it's basically helping out, being a good friend, a positive influence...I'm not perfect. No one is- and thats no excuse for abusers out in the world. But nobody I know and devote my time for are abusive. The Sudweeks, myself, or anyone I choose to be around- they all have a lot in common. They are devoted to helping others. The Sudweeks have their flaws- and these are not just theirs alone, its the kids mostly- like in communication. But take this really good example. The students are packing to leave for a travel study trip and some of them ask to call their parents and the other 80 percent choose not to. Now parents left and right are wondering and questioning, all with excellent reason to do so for their childs life is in the hands of those hundreds of miles away. Need for improvement? Of course! And things are being done in everyones power to do so. I am here for anyone who needs answers. ([email protected]). There is no abuse. There is lack of communication- but like that of the students not bothering to call their parents-that is solely their responsibility and something that could be talked about between parents and their kids. I am hearing whispering through cracks that some parents are very close to quitting this whole journey- dont quit. Ask, look around for advice- listen to the minority in this case- because