Author Topic: New "School" Construction by HLA Owner Killed by County?  (Read 15557 times)

Offline Troll Control

• View Profile
New "School" Construction by HLA Owner Killed by County?
« on: January 28, 2006, 11:54:00 AM »
http://www.thedahloneganugget.com/artic ... 1wozny.txt

Commissioners hindering betterment of county

To the editor:

Dismay ... shock ... outrage. These are but a few words to describe my reaction to the news that the county commissioners have thrown up yet another roadblock to the proposal by Hidden Lake Academy to build a new facility, Mountain Brook Academy.

I am a relatively new resident of Lumpkin County, but I have followed this situation since it was first proposed. In addition, I have toured Hidden Lake and have seen first-hand what a great contribution it makes to the community and the benefits derived by its students.

It should be noted that my first visit to Hidden Lake occurred in late 2004 when the Dahlonega Woman's Club presented a candidate forum, generously hosted by Hidden Lake Academy.

Every person presently on the commission attended that forum and I heard each get up and promise that he/she would always act in the best interest of the county and its citizens.

I question how the recent actions of the commissioners in continuing to block HLA/MBA can be considered in the "best interest" of Lumpkin County.  

At the commissioners meeting Nov. 17, Clarence Stowers presented an additional list of various items that he proposed be renegotiated before giving the go-ahead to the plan presented.

The development authority had already recommended acceptance of the original proposal, but NO, that wasn't good enough for the commissioners.

They asked the authority to go back and meet again to look into the new items being presented for consideration. It appears that MBA agreed to those stipulations, but, no, even that wasn't enough.

The commissioners are now asking for even more concessions from HLA/MBA.