Author Topic: Are you really out of straight yet?  (Read 8870 times)

Offline Anonymous

• View Profile
Are you really out of straight yet?
« on: August 19, 2005, 08:50:00 AM »
I'm new to this whole Orwellian way of connecting and keep wanting to ask everyone," what do you get out of this?"

I think straight has this way of seeding itself.  I was still in straight even after years of knowing I had been brainwashed and supposedly had graduated.  Just knowing I was brainwashed did not free me of the brainwashing. It didn't free me of the addiction I developed to straight. It didn't free me of the comfort I found in the absolutist Straight mentality

So is this forum the new straight?

Is this our new way of sharing in group?

Sometimes I read these angry posts and it's like folks are real comfy as the victim. I was messed up. They did this to me so I am this way now. The comfort of being totally sure about your stance is real attractive. Like the stance we adopted in straight," drugs are evil". And now it seems the new way we continue to brainwash ourselves is to build up a new "stance" and say "Straight is evil". Thats just another totalitarian view, a view that seems to give us permission to settle into being helpless angry victims.

Of course straight is evil, but in lots of ways we are still perpetuating the Straight mentality. Abuse is addictive too. Absolute viewpoints are comfortable but require that whole upkeep, the maintinance of brainwashing ourselves to keep reality looking that one certain way.

Having said all of that, I am now glad I went through that.

OK time for review, motivate, get called on, Blast Me!!
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 PM by Guest »

Offline Anonymous

• View Profile
« Reply #1 on: August 19, 2005, 09:29:00 AM »
Very, very Straight to disparage anyone being a "victim". Yay for you, still in Straight!

Offline Anonymous

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: August 19, 2005, 09:31:00 AM »