Author Topic: criminal negligence  (Read 6389 times)

Offline Anonymous

• View Profile
criminal negligence
« Reply #15 on: July 18, 2002, 02:23:00 AM »
From what you say any crimes that may have been committed by employees or residents at Elan happened 15+ years ago.  I have no knowledge whatsoever regarding policies and procedures of the judicial system in the state of Maine, however if it operates like every other state in this union there are statutes of limitation preventing prosecution of most crimes past a certain number of years. So... if you were not a victim of a crime or a witness to a crime, just take these accusations as stories people tell about people they were hurt by.  If you were a victim or witness to a crime committed at Elan than you have a civil and moral duty to report the crime to the proper authorities, hopefully initiating an investigation and perhaps prosecution.  I also hope that you have sought out or are currently involved in dealing with these issues with a professional in therapy.
Keep in mind, without substantial convincing evidence or testimony it would be a simple task for Elan to discredit any one of us!  They have incident books, staff reports, progress notes etc. describing in detail the events leading up to our admission and the type of behavior we displayed while we were residents.