Author Topic: Cedu 1983  (Read 781 times)

Offline Anonymous

• View Profile
Cedu 1983
« on: December 29, 2006, 03:23:06 AM »
I was a student at CEDU for a short period from about Sep ? Nov (?) 1983.  Twenty-three years later and here I am still thinking about that little piece of earthbound Hell?.I guess that shows the impact that this ?school? had on me.  I don?t know if it?s selective memory working here or a means for a kid to block out a traumatic experience, but I don?t remember too much of my day to day activities during that time??.I do remember with great detail the ?Raps? and Truth Propheet that I went through.  It will always boggle my mind how a place like that can exist.  I saw, as I?m sure everyone else posting here saw, the daily episodes of verbal/emotional/and sometimes physical abuse at the hands of our ?counselors.?  By no means am I a professional therapist or anything remotely close to it, but I would have to say that constantly screaming at a kid that he/she is a worthless piece of shit is not a very valuable therapeutic tool. Back in 83 I was a rebellious kid who liked to ditch school to party, listen to ?unauthorized/unacceptable (CEDU lingo here)? rock music, and hang out with friends which naturally caused friction at home.  Because of my relatively ?tame? past, I did not do so well at the raps and Propheet as I was not about to make up crap to say to satisfy the counselor?s apparent bloodlust.  I watched as kids shared tragedies of their life while counselors and students alike screamed, yelled, belittled, mocked, and generally made fun of them.  It was also so apparent that some of the stories were fictitious and told only to make the yelling stop. These sessions were a wonderful way to teach an impressionable teen about paranoia, mistrusting others, how to attack others as a means of deflecting the attention from yourself, and a general up close and personal view of the dark side of human behavior.  This was a very sick and unhealthy pla