Author Topic: Concerned for my old friends  (Read 1579 times)

Offline Michele

• View Profile
Concerned for my old friends
« on: October 12, 2002, 09:04:00 PM »
Hi, my name is Michele D. and I graduated Northeast High (St. Pete) in '79 and Meadowlawn Jr. High in '75.  

I happened upon this site totally by accident and spent 4 hours last night reading this message board.  Needless to say, it has left me very disturbed.
I knew that The Seed/Straight were very tough and regimented programs, somewhat like the boot camps of today.  I also recall seeing a documentary on Straight some years ago that showed just how strict the treatment was.  But, I had no idea of the abuse and loss of identity and self-esteem.

My thoughts and prayers are with all of you who survived, but are left scarred by your experience.

I had two friends and one acquaintance who were sent to The Seed/Straight at different times and under different circumstances.  When they emerged from those programs, like so many have posted here, they were no longer my friends (their choice, not mine).  
I was no risk.  I never touched drugs or drink in my teens, and all these years I still don't understand why our friendships had to be broken.

Anyway, the reason I am posting is to wish all of you the best. and also out of concern for my former friends.  I'm wondering if anyone here has heard of them or knows how their lives have gone.
I see that last names of "clients" aren't used here, so I'll describe them as best I can.