Author Topic: The ring  (Read 33100 times)

Offline Becca

• View Profile
The ring
« Reply #30 on: October 31, 2003, 01:31:00 PM »
The ring ended in the fall of 2000.  I was a resident at elan 8 at the time, I was one of the last people to go in the ring.  Although many of you disagree I fell it was probably one of the more productive things at Elan.  I personally learned that there are real consequences for my actions.  I know this may not be the popular opinion aroud here, but I think the students of Elan would be better off if it was still in concept.
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 PM by Guest »

Offline Antigen

• View Profile
    • http://wwf.Fornits.com/
The ring
« Reply #31 on: October 31, 2003, 03:14:00 PM »
Becca, serious question.

In Straight, we didn't have the ring exactly like they had at Elan. But we had very similar practices. We had what, in later days, was euphemistically termed 'restraint'. In my day (`80 - `82) they just called it getting sat on, which is essentially what happened. They (well, we who didn't want to go a round on the floor ourselves) told parents and anyone else that the only reason anyone ever got sat on was to restrain them from assaulting others or hurting themselves. (carving was a popular passtime in group at Straight)

The truth, though, was that you could get sat on for refusing to "get honest" (renounce yourself, confess to an accusation... whatever) or for making a run for the door.