Author Topic: An Open Letter to GIs in Iraq  (Read 1902 times)

Offline Antigen

• View Profile
    • http://wwf.Fornits.com/
An Open Letter to GIs in Iraq
« on: May 14, 2004, 10:42:00 PM »
( http://www.viewzone.com/soldiers.html , 15 September 2003 )

Dear American serviceperson in Iraq,

I am a retired veteran of the army, and my own son is among you, a  paratrooper like I was. The changes that are happening to every one of you  -- some more extreme than others -- are changes I know very well. So I'm  going to say some things to you straight up in the language to which you are accustomed.

In 1970, I was assigned to the 173rd Airborne Brigade, then based in  northern Binh Dinh Province in what was then the Republic of Vietnam. When I went there, I had my head full of s**t: from the news media, s**t from  movies, s**t about what it supposedly meant to be a man, and s**t from a lot  of my know-nothing neighbors who would tell you plenty about Vietnam even  though they'd never been there, or to war at all.

The essence of all this s**t was that we had to "stay the course in  Vietnam," and that we were on some mission to save good Vietnamese from bad  Vietnamese, and to keep the bad Vietnamese from hitting beachheads outside  of Oakland. We stayed the course until 58,000 Americans were dead and lots  more maimed for life, and 3,000,000 Southeast Asians were dead. Ex-military  people and even many on active duty played a big part in finally bringing  that crime to a halt.

When I started hearing about weapons of mass destruction that  threatened the United States from Iraq, a shattered country that had endured  almost a decade of trench war followed by an invasion and twelve years of  sanctions, my first question was how in the hell can anyone believe that  this suffering country presents a threat to the United States? But then I  remembered how many people had believed Vietnam threatened the United  States. Including me.