Author Topic: getting your facts straight  (Read 15056 times)

Offline still doing fine

• View Profile
getting your facts straight
« on: April 08, 2004, 12:28:00 PM »
I read a response from someone who chose to be anonymous.  Your response was to Reality check.  I graduated from the Kids Helping Kids program 11 years ago.  I believe it was the best thing that ever happened to me.  I was an out of control kid who did not care what happened to myself.  I was unable at that point in time to love or care about myself.  I was obsessed with drugs and alcohol because that is what took the pain away.  I thank God that my parents loved me enough to place me there.  When I could not love myself I had a whole group of people that loved me.  Eleven years later I am a happy, productive member of society.  I did not need intense psychotherapy in order to heal from the ordeal.  I never want to forget my time spent there.  I am now married, have a home and am getting to ready to have children.  I am a successful graduate from college with a good career.  Maybe if some people's life did not turn out so well they should take a look in the mirror as to why. Whatever measures took place at Kids Helping Kids I believe that I needed them.  Nothing else was working at that point.  So please don't assume your experience was the same as mine.
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 PM by Guest »

Offline Antigen

• View Profile
    • http://wwf.Fornits.com/
« Reply #1 on: April 09, 2004, 03:04:00 AM »
On 2004-04-08 09:28:00, still doing fine wrote:

. Eleven years later I am a happy, productive member of society.

Over 20 years later and so am I. Now that I'm older, my focus is more on my kids' world and their children's. Over the years, I've seen lunatic fanaticism over drugs take over the public policy on which I depend to keep my children's America alive.