Author Topic: CDC reports: Suicide rates up 76% in teen girls  (Read 3342 times)

Offline Froderik

• View Profile
CDC reports: Suicide rates up 76% in teen girls
« Reply #15 on: September 09, 2007, 06:44:06 PM »
Yeah that's it, blame it on the music.. :roll:
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 PM by Guest »

Offline Anonymous

• View Profile
« Reply #16 on: September 09, 2007, 09:12:21 PM »
Of course it's more than the music.  It's the lack of self concept, the lack of a sense of the future, it's the music, the lack of regard for their own lives, and probably others as well.  It's a mistake (my apologies) to be too vague in my posting.  The entire LIFESTYLE, in my opinion ,is a contributing factors to the current increases in self injury and suicide.  I work in a school, and have so for over 15 years.  We always had the occasional suicide attempt, and almost no self injury.  For about the last 5-6 years, however, there has been an explosion in self injury and suicide attempts.  There has, unfortunately, been several suicides.  I cannot attest to what medications the children that suicided were on, but the one think that linked all of my experiences is that all of these children were dressed in the "emo" fashion, self injured, and were known to be in the "scene".  Scoff if you will, but I've seen it myself, and I'm sure that others have as well.  

As I stated in my last post.  We all had our fads.  I was a "metal head" in the 80's.  I played guitar badly), dressed in black, and had long hair.  I grew up, as I'm sure that most of us have.  The difference here, again, is that some of these "emo" kids aren't growing up, they're dying!

Offline Froderik

• View Profile
« Reply #17 on: September 09, 2007, 09:44:28 PM »
So what (if anything) do you suggest?

Offline Oz girl

• View Profile
« Reply #18 on: September 09, 2007, 09:53:28 PM »
Quote from: ""Cultural Disaster""