Author Topic: Bodin Responds to Sue Scheff's At Wits End  (Read 697 times)

Offline Anonymous

• View Profile
Bodin Responds to Sue Scheff's At Wits End
« on: September 11, 2008, 09:18:26 PM »
http://thebodingroupblog.wordpress.com/ ... -wits-end/

Bodin responds to Sue Scheff's At Wits End.   :bs:
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 PM by Guest »

Offline Anonymous

• View Profile
Re: Bodin Responds to Sue Scheff's At Wits End
« Reply #1 on: September 11, 2008, 09:19:58 PM »
Dear Sue—

That’s a fantastic reminder to desperate parents of the risks associated with getting on the internet. Predatory practices by otherwise reputable organizations, let alone those by the disreputable ones, are outrageously commonplace. As an Educational Consultant I also agree almost entirely with your assessment of educational consultants! My firm is the largest in the country, employing almost exclusively Masters and Ph.D. - level, experienced professionals to act as the guides and planners for families in crisis. It’s the best of both worlds, in my opinion. As trained therapists, they understand the intricacies and nuances of often significantly clinical issues. But as a team of 15, constantly traveling around the country visiting and evaluating hundreds of programs, we bring a level of knowledge and on-the-ground experience that is unmatched. Furthermore, with a diversity of clinical experiences and backgrounds, our team approach allows each consultant to collaborate and derive support and guidance from other members of the team on a regular and routine basis. I further agree that consulting with your therapist is an important component of the process. We get most of our referrals from therapists who may recognize the possible need for a residential placement but rely on our travel, experience and expertise to help determine its necessity and location. Finally, with regard to the politics, I believe you are unfortunately correct that individual practitioners are limited in the