Author Topic: Bipolar Meds  (Read 17424 times)

Offline providence

• View Profile
Bipolar Meds
« Reply #30 on: October 30, 2005, 03:30:00 PM »
Everything made the boys horny at CEDU. Enter desert island syndrome.
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 PM by Guest »

Offline Helena Handbasket

• View Profile
Bipolar Meds
« Reply #31 on: October 30, 2005, 05:50:00 PM »
I know Depakote and Verapamil are also prescribed.  Even fish oil.

Well I'm not a doctor either, but I was studying to be one.

Depakote is a seizure med, and Verapamil is used to treat cardiac arrythmia.  What the FUCK does this have to do with bipolar disorder?

Oh, I guess that falls under the Snake Oil... oh sorry, FISH oil prescription.  
 :roll:
uly 21, 2003 - September 17, 2006

Offline Anonymous

• View Profile
Bipolar Meds
« Reply #32 on: October 30, 2005, 07:05:00 PM »
On 2005-10-30 14:50:00, Helena Handbasket wrote:

"

Depakote is a seizure med, and Verapamil is used to treat cardiac arrythmia.  What the FUCK does this have to do with bipolar disorder?

"

Quick google search will find numerous references to these 2 meds.  Both are well documented for the treatment of bipolar disorder.

So it would seem they would have quite a bit to do with bipolar disorder......not snake (or fish) oil at all.

Offline Anonymous

• View Profile
Bipolar Meds
« Reply #33 on: October 30, 2005, 07:08:00 PM »
Looks like Helena should stay where she belongs.

Offline Anonymous

• View Profile
Bipolar Meds
« Reply #34 on: October 30, 2005, 09:39:00 PM »
No, actually the top researchers are finding great success with mega doses of fish oil in stabilizing mild to moderate mood disorders. This is very well documented.  Depakote is an anti convulsant (my brother took it for epilepsy) but seems to have some success with bipolar II. Same with verapmil.  It's all neurological so it isn't surprising that the drugs are cross referenced.

Offline dniceo7

• View Profile
Bipolar Meds