Author Topic: FEAR - The Record  (Read 556 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Froderik

  • Moderator
  • Newbie
  • *****
  • Posts: 7554
  • Karma: +10/-0
    • View Profile
FEAR - The Record
« on: March 07, 2005, 12:02:00 PM »

One of the most entertaining and influential of the punk bands that emerged in the late 70s in Los Angeles, California, Fear consisted of Lee Ving (vocals, guitar, harmonica), Philo Cramer (guitar), Derf Scratch (bass) and Johnny Backbeat (drums). Formed in 1978, the band's sarcastic, almost nihilistic, stance, captured on Penelope Spheeris's The Decline Of Western Civilization film, formed the basis of a recorded career that never quite captured the band's stroppy, chaotic live shows. The debut album, The Record, was, nevertheless, a searing document of the band's potent rock 'n' roll, despite some primitive attitudes to women and homosexuals. Animated by a musical ability far beyond many of their peers, and fortified by Ving's bar blues vocal presence, it is one of only two essential Fear recordings within a limited discography. The other was the band's debut single, "I Love Living In The City", a sneering put-down of Hollywood. Their most famous live appearance, meanwhile, came as Halloween guests on the syndicated Saturday Night Live television show. In true punk style, the event ended in chaos and controversy, with the station quite appalled at the "slam dancing" generated by Fear fans that accompanied the filming. Later in 1982 Scratch was replaced by future Red Hot Chili Peppers bass player Flea in time for the release of "Fuck Christmas". Shortly afterwards, Lorenzo (formerly of the Dickies) became the permanent bass player. More Beer repeated the debut album's formula, with occasional stylistic variation but little else to recommend it. It featured drummer Spit Stix, who was formerly in the Nina Hagen band.
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 PM by Guest »