Author Topic: Stoughton - A question for "Staff/Old Comers"  (Read 33016 times)

Offline Anonymous

• View Profile
Stoughton - A question for "Staff/Old Comers"
« Reply #15 on: January 31, 2006, 11:08:00 AM »
Hi, I was a grad from Stoughton, and was on staff for a couple years. And it is hard to look back at some of those times. I was young, newly sober, and under the guidance and direction of some strong influences at Straight. At the time I did also believe in the program with all my heart. I gave it my all and got result from it, as did alot of others who I see now. When I finally got fired, and started working in the real human service field, I started to realize that so many of the things that went on there were against normal treatment and care, and often were abusive and traumatic. It took me a very long time to accept my part in that, and to start letting go realizing that I could not change the past, and re-learning how to really help people (which has been my career since). I was overage when I went in, so even though there was times I wanted out, I needed to be there, and finished it. There were some great times for me at straight (the friends and laughs we had), along with some nightmares. In the spirit of love and peace, just my thoughts.
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 PM by Guest »

Offline Anonymous

• View Profile
« Reply #16 on: February 02, 2006, 09:22:00 AM »