Author Topic: The Psychology of then and now...  (Read 1878 times)

Offline Stripe

• View Profile
The Psychology of then and now...
« on: December 05, 2005, 10:52:00 AM »
Preface this post with the statement that I do not have a degree in Psychology or Psychiatry nor do I have a medical degree.

We are now 35 years, give or take one or two, from the time first Seed program in Ft. Lauderdale opened its doors for business.  

Today, many of the Seed program participants who post on this forum  are either or have previously admitted to, gotten treatment for, or exhibited a vast array of medical and psychological disorders.  There are also other seed participants who fully believe that those who have problems now, and admit to those problems, are merely looking for someone to blame.    

This thought is the result of a query in response of my post on another thread:

Are you sure you would not have been that way anyway? I'm not being a jerk. I'm being honest.
Some people want to blame someone for everything instead of accepting the responsibility on their own.

Except for medically-based psychological problems (i.e. chemical imbalances), most psychological problems are a result of EXTERNAL  factors that are not processed and resolved by the person who experienced them.  

It would be interesting to know whether the illnesses and psychological problems experienced by non-addict ex-seedlings are statistically within the range of ?normal? occurrences within the general population.  While I have no scientific data to back it up, I would venture to guess that statistically, non-addict ex-seedlings fall outside the statistical norms for the maladies they now suffer.  

I?ve seen no evidence in my own life or from other seed kids of anyone who simply had the seed experience and remained unaffected.  Most either:

1.   Went on to other addictions treatment programs fully embracing an addiction mentality/reality as  a way of life; or
2.   Went into full self-destruct mode;  or