Author Topic: Dear Art,  (Read 28671 times)

Offline cleveland

• View Profile
Dear Art,
« on: September 30, 2005, 12:06:00 PM »
I am posting my own 'Dear Art' letter here, and I hope others will too.

"Dear Art,

Hi, this is Walter. You called me Wally. I was a newcomer in '78 in Cleveland, 19 years old at the time. I was looking for some answers then, since my family seemed so screwed up, and my brother had joined the Seed and came home, seemingly transformed. I went to an Open Meeting and, after talking with Scott B., sat down on the front row. I graduated and ended up staying for 7 years.

I want to tell you that the Seed experience was a complicated one for me. I was young and confused, and it gave me definite answers to so many things. I also really thought the raps were fascinating, how a staff member could weave a spell over the group, and how much we might laugh. Some people were cryers, but not me. Anyway, I came to believe that the Seed was it, or at least that it offered an alternative to what I had found in life so far.

I really wanted adventure, and the Seed promised that we would change the world. I wanted friendship, and I was told I would have friends for life. I wanted examples to follow, and I had Scott, and Ken, and Ginger, and Lybbi, and Phil, and all of the other successful, happy graduates that were leaders.

Frankly, being 'straight' didn't mean much to me, since I hadn't been an addict at all before. I was afraid that I might turn out like others in my family though, who were clearly alcoholics, so I toed the line on that. It seemed like a small price to pay.

I also didn't like all of the rules, being separated from the girls, having to play sports I didn't like, and loosing my 'old druggie friends,' some of whom were really great people and not 'druggies' at all. But I accepted that it was all or nothing, and I did my best to be a good sport. Besides, we were changing the world.